top of page
Search
  • crobilliard4

Traditional Guernsey Food - Self directed Project

My initial idea for this project is to design a recipe book and little menus for the traditional Guernsey recipes I was looking into then I was going to invite friends and family over to my house to eat the recipes together and just enjoy the time to learn about the culture. I intend on creating a video of me baking all of the items and create a video of the gathering and peoples opinions on the food so to start off I started drawing and sketching ideas of how to show the recipes.

The recipes I will look into for this project are: Bean jar Potato peel pie Gache Gache melee I also want to add in recipes that showcase the fresh award winning produce from Guernsey, such as cream in scones and rocquettes cider

I started with the designs for Bean jar

After designing some elements of the dish, I made the dish. I took photos and videos along the process of the cooking.


After getting to this stage in my project, due to the circumstances worldwide I had to rush to get home from the UK before I wasn't able to. The governments rules on me coming home meant that I had to self isolate in my room for two weeks, during this time the whole island got put into lockdown. For the period of the two weeks I was unable to bake or cook so I started to make the the recipe deign sheets and just continue to sketch while I as going to figure out what comes next as the idea of inviting family around was now unable to go ahead.


The next idea for the progression of the project is to figure out how to incorporate the current situation and still show the original themes of the project.

I thought that during this lockdown that people will need a way to keep themselves busy so my idea waste create a facebook page where I can show case these illustrated recipes ideas and allow the people to interact with the posts as well as keeping in touch with the culture and community of Guernsey. Food is a massive part of Guernseys community. often in Guernsey there are whole events and days surrounding and celebrating the produce and food Guernsey, so although was an island are missing out on these events I'm setting out to allow people to still enjoy parts of these events from home.


These recipe pages I created towards the beginning of the project


I decided these pages were too static and I thought the didn't jump out enough, especially as I want people to engage and make these recipes. I started to collage the drawings to come up with more ideas of how I can experiment with these pages.

After this I started playing around with animating on photoshop for the first time!








7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page